Flipkart opened Big Billion Days to early access on 8 October and swapped the pre-sale blocks on its store page for a list of fourteen promotional formats, each with its own one-line definition. The striking part is the clock on them: Super Flash lasts "15 minutes after unlocking", Price Crash "resets selected items to Day 0 prices for 1 hour", Tick Tock changes hourly, Double Discount runs two hours. Below: all fourteen quoted verbatim, the fixed price points worth planning around, the bank stack that has not moved, and what disappeared from the page when the sale opened.
Quoted from Flipkart's own store page
Read 8 October 2026, the morning early access opened
Price Crash "resets selected items to Day 0 prices for 1 hour"
📅 Update log:
8 October 2026 — First publication, on the morning Big Billion Days opened to early access. All fourteen deal formats and their definitions, the Tyohaar Drops and Budget Buys price points, the Flipkart Minutes hyperlocal tiers, the full bank and credit stack, the ten named opening prices and the early-access and general-access dates were read first-party from flipkart.com/big-billion-days-store. Also recorded: the disappearance of the Curtain Raiser, Discount Passes, SuperCoin Funfair and Countdown Cheat Sheet blocks that the same page carried on 6 October, the removal of the word "Upcoming" from its title, and the app-shell title and pinned widget still reading "coming soon" on the morning of the sale. Verified 8 October 2026.
Fourteen formats, and five of them expire within the hour
When Big Billion Days opened to early access on 8 October, Flipkart replaced the pre-sale blocks on its store page with a full list of the promotional formats running during the sale, each with its own one-line definition. There are fourteen of them, and the single most useful thing about the list is how short-lived several are.
Super Flash deals are "unlocked with 1 SuperCoin for 15 minutes after unlocking". Price Crash "resets selected items to Day 0 prices for 1 hour". Double Discount "doubles the discount for 2 hours". Tick Tock Deals feature "a new deal every hour". Rush Hour is "opening day discounts on selected items for early visitors". All five quotations are Flipkart's own wording.
That is the practical shape of this sale and it is worth naming plainly: a meaningful share of the deepest pricing is designed not to be comparable. Fifteen minutes is not enough time to check another retailer, read reviews and think. That is not a criticism of the mechanic — urgency promotions are ordinary retail and entirely lawful — but it does determine the only sensible way to shop it, which is to decide what you want and what you will pay before the window opens rather than during it.
| Format | What Flipkart's page says it does | How long it lasts |
|---|
| Super Flash | deals "unlocked with 1 SuperCoin" | 15 minutes |
| Price Crash | "resets selected items to Day 0 prices" | 1 hour |
| Tick Tock Deals | "a new deal every hour" | 1 hour |
| Double Discount | "doubles the discount" | 2 hours |
| Rush Hour | "opening day discounts ... for early visitors" | Opening day |
| Brand Hours | "selected favourites at great introductory prices" | Not stated |
| Deals of the Day | "featured bestsellers ... with extra discounts" | A day |
| Tech Top Deals | "daily new deals on mobiles, laptops, and electronics" | Daily |
| Everyday Living Top Deals | "daily updates on fashion and home picks" | Daily |
| Tyohaar Drops | "curated products from Rs. 49" | A price point |
| Budget Buys | fixed points Rs. 99 to Rs. 999 | A price point |
| Steal Deals | "handpicked products at special prices" | Not stated |
| BBD Specials | "Flipkart-exclusive products and new launches" | The sale |
| Hyperlocal (Flipkart Minutes) | tiers under Rs. 99, Rs. 299, Rs. 499 | A price point |
"Day 0 prices" is the most revealing phrase on the page
Read the Price Crash definition again, slowly: it "resets selected items to Day 0 prices for 1 hour".
A reset only makes sense if something has drifted. The sentence is Flipkart telling you, in its own marketing copy, that prices during Big Billion Days do not simply fall on day one and stay there — they move during the sale, and some of them move back up, which is why returning an item to its opening price is worth promoting as an event.
We have measured the same thing from the other direction. On 21 September we recorded 381 Flipkart prices and re-read them on the morning early access opened: 58 of the 79 we could match were cheaper, 15 were identical to the rupee and 6 cost more than before the sale, with a median change of -4.8%. Prices in this event are not a one-way street, and Flipkart's own Price Crash wording says so before we do.
The honest reading is not that anything improper is happening — dynamic pricing is lawful, universal in e-commerce, and Flipkart publishes these mechanics openly rather than hiding them. The reading is that the opening price of the sale is a meaningful benchmark, and the only person who will have a record of it is you.
The fixed price points are the part worth planning around
Percentages move. Price points do not. Three of the fourteen formats are defined by rupee figures rather than discounts, and these are the ones a shopper can actually use to plan a basket.
Tyohaar Drops are described as "curated products from Rs. 49 for festive and budget-conscious shopping". Budget Buys are products at fixed price points of Rs. 99, Rs. 199, Rs. 399, Rs. 599, Rs. 799 and Rs. 999. Hyperlocal deals through Flipkart Minutes run at under Rs. 99, Rs. 299 and Rs. 499 delivered to the door, and include what Flipkart calls Big Brand Crazy Deals and Buy More Save More.
A fixed-price rail is a different thing from a discount rail and it rewards a different behaviour. You cannot be misled about what Rs. 199 means. What you can still be caught by is buying something at Rs. 199 that you did not want, which is the oldest mechanic in retail and needs no sale to work. Our measured finding that low-ticket fashion discounted hardest — running shoes down a median 24.8% since September — sits in exactly this part of the store.
What vanished from the page when the sale opened
This page is worth comparing with itself. On 6 October, two days before early access, the same URL carried a set of pre-sale mechanics: a Curtain Raiser putting selected products at BBD prices five days early, an hourly BBD Countdown Cheat Sheet, a SuperCoin Funfair, and Discount Passes — an advance fee paid before the event to unlock extra price drops in electronics, appliances, fashion and furniture.
On 8 October, none of those four terms appears on the page at all. They have been replaced by the fourteen in-sale formats above. Nothing improper about that — a pre-sale block has no reason to survive the sale starting — but if you bought a Discount Pass or planned around the Curtain Raiser, the page that explained them is no longer the page you are reading.
One more thing changed and one did not. The word "Upcoming", which sat in front of "Big Billion Days" on this page on 6 October, is gone; the page title now reads "Flipkart Big Billion Days 2026: BBD Sale Live (Early Access)" and the copy heading reads "Attractive Deals and Offers, Now LIVE". But the same page's app-shell title still reads "BBD sale coming soon" and a pinned widget near the top is still headed "Top deals coming soon". On the first morning of the sale, Flipkart's own page is in two states at once, so expect some tiles not to have switched over.
The bank stack, which did not move at all
Against fourteen rotating formats, the payment offers are the stable part of the sale. Every figure below is identical to what the same page carried on 6 October, re-read on the morning of 8 October.
Up to 10% instant discount on Axis Bank and ICICI Bank cards is the headline. Beneath it: 10% off a first transaction via Supermoney; flat Rs. 1,000 off with Flipkart EMI, on credit described as up to Rs. 20,00,000 with No Cost EMI; flat Rs. 500 off with Flipkart Pay Later on credit up to Rs. 1,00,000; personal loans described as approved up to Rs. 1,00,00,000; and 5% off Flipkart digital gift cards bought via UPI.
Flipkart's own asterisk applies to all of it — these are stated maximums on eligible transactions, not a discount every basket receives, and caps per transaction are set by the bank rather than shown on this page. Read "up to 10%" as a ceiling and check the actual deduction at the payment screen, which is the only place the real number appears.
The named opening prices Flipkart published - and the asterisk on each
Flipkart names ten specific opening prices on its store page, every one of them carrying its own asterisk: iPhone 17 from Rs. 79,999; Motorola Edge 70 Fusion from Rs. 29,999; Samsung Galaxy Book4 Core i3 at Rs. 47,990, Core i5 at Rs. 54,990 and Core i7 at Rs. 64,990; Samsung Book5 AI at Rs. 71,990 and Rs. 77,990; trolley combos from Rs. 2,299; Hero Splendor+ from Rs. 71,048; Hero Xtreme 125R from Rs. 84,700.
Two observations. First, not one of these ten figures changed when the sale opened — they are the same numbers the page carried on 6 October, before early access. Second, the asterisk matters: these are described as starting prices on specific variants, so read them as the floor of a range rather than the price of the model you have in mind. A 'from Rs. 79,999' iPhone is the cheapest configuration Flipkart expects to offer, not a guarantee about any particular storage size or colour.
Flipkart also names its headline categories and brands: mobiles and tablets (Apple, Samsung, Motorola, Google, Nothing), electronics (Intel, ASUS, Sony, Acer, JBL), TVs and appliances, fashion and beauty (Beardo, Aristocrat, Campus, Puma, Titan, Sonata, Abros, Adidas, Nasher Miles, Fossil) and home and furniture.
How to shop fourteen formats without being shopped by them
One: write your price down before you open the app. Against a 15-minute Super Flash window there is no time to research, so the research has to happen first. Decide the model and the number you will pay, then wait.
Two: treat the fixed price points as the browsable part and the timed formats as the targeted part. Tyohaar Drops and Budget Buys reward browsing because the price is known in advance. Price Crash and Super Flash reward knowing exactly what you are waiting for.
Three: check the payment screen, not the badge. The bank stack is the most reliable saving in the sale and the only one you can verify at checkout; a discount percentage is struck against a stated MRP and tells you nothing about whether the price moved.
Four: the opening price is a benchmark worth keeping. Flipkart describes Price Crash as resetting items to "Day 0 prices", which concedes that prices drift during the sale. Screenshot what you see on day one, because nothing on the site will show it to you on day five.
Early access opened at midnight on 8 October for Flipkart Plus members, VIP members and Flipkart credit card holders; general access opens 9 October. Flipkart has published no end date, and its own FAQ answers the question with "sale duration is subject to the official BBD schedule".
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a Price Crash deal on Flipkart Big Billion Days?
In Flipkart's own words, Price Crash "resets selected items to Day 0 prices for 1 hour". Two things follow from that definition. One, it is a one-hour window, so it is not something you can browse at leisure. Two, and more usefully, a reset to day-zero prices only means something if prices have moved away from day-zero prices — which is Flipkart stating in its own promotional copy that prices drift during the sale rather than falling once and staying down. Dynamic pricing of this kind is ordinary and lawful and nothing here suggests otherwise; the practical consequence is simply that the opening price of the sale is a benchmark worth recording yourself. Read from flipkart.com/big-billion-days-store on 8 October 2026.
How long do Big Billion Days flash deals last?
It depends which format, and Flipkart publishes the durations. Super Flash deals last "15 minutes after unlocking" and are unlocked with 1 SuperCoin. Price Crash runs for 1 hour. Tick Tock Deals change every hour. Double Discount runs for 2 hours. Rush Hour applies to opening day only. Brand Hours, Steal Deals and BBD Specials are not given a stated duration on the page. Five of the fourteen named formats therefore expire within two hours, which is the single most important practical fact about this sale: decide what you want and what you will pay before the window opens, because there is no time to compare inside it.
What are Budget Buys and Tyohaar Drops on Flipkart?
They are the fixed-price rails, and they are the easiest part of the sale to plan around because they are stated in rupees rather than percentages. Tyohaar Drops are "curated products from Rs. 49". Budget Buys sit at fixed price points of Rs. 99, Rs. 199, Rs. 399, Rs. 599, Rs. 799 and Rs. 999. Separately, hyperlocal deals delivered through Flipkart Minutes run at under Rs. 99, Rs. 299 and Rs. 499 and include Big Brand Crazy Deals and Buy More Save More. Unlike a discount badge, a price point cannot be measured against a stated MRP, so there is nothing to interpret — the only question left is whether you wanted the item.
What bank offers are running on Big Billion Days 2026?
As published on Flipkart's own store page and re-read on 8 October 2026: up to 10% instant discount on Axis Bank and ICICI Bank cards; 10% off a first transaction via Supermoney; flat Rs. 1,000 off with Flipkart EMI on credit described as up to Rs. 20,00,000 with No Cost EMI; flat Rs. 500 off with Flipkart Pay Later on credit up to Rs. 1,00,000; personal loans described as approved up to Rs. 1,00,00,000; and 5% off Flipkart digital gift cards bought via UPI. Every one carries Flipkart's own asterisk. These are stated maximums on eligible transactions rather than a discount every basket gets, and the per-transaction cap is set by the bank — the real deduction appears at the payment screen and nowhere earlier.
Is the Flipkart Big Billion Days sale live right now?
It opened to early access at midnight on 8 October 2026 for eligible Flipkart Plus members, VIP members and Flipkart credit card holders, with general access from 9 October 2026. Flipkart's own page title now reads "BBD Sale Live (Early Access)" and its copy heading reads "Attractive Deals and Offers, Now LIVE". One caveat worth knowing: on the same morning, the page's app-shell title still read "BBD sale coming soon" and a pinned widget was still headed "Top deals coming soon", so some tiles had not switched over. No end date has been published — Flipkart's FAQ says only that "sale duration is subject to the official BBD schedule".
Prices & codes last verified: October 8, 2026
Zoutons may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. Every deal format, definition, price point, bank offer, named price and date described above was read first-party from flipkart.com/big-billion-days-store on 8 October 2026 at approximately 08:00 IST, logged out, in India, with nothing purchased, no account used, no SuperCoin held and no deal unlocked; quotations are reproduced verbatim from Flipkart's own published copy and FAQ text on that page. Comparisons with the same page as it stood on 6 October 2026 are drawn from our own reading of it on that date. We did not observe any of these promotional formats in operation, did not unlock a Super Flash deal, did not see a Price Crash window and did not transact, so this page describes what Flipkart published about how its promotions work rather than how any of them behaved in practice. Promotional mechanics, durations, price points, participating brands, bank partners and the sale's own dates are set by Flipkart and its partners and may be added to, withdrawn or changed at any time without notice; no end date for the sale had been published at the time of writing. All named prices are Flipkart's own stated starting prices carrying its own asterisk, apply to specific variants rather than to every configuration of a model, and are not offers, quotations or current prices; bank discounts described as "up to" a percentage are stated maximums on eligible transactions subject to per-transaction caps and eligibility criteria set by the bank or lender rather than discounts available on every basket, and credit limits and loan amounts described are stated maximums subject to approval and are not an offer of credit. The amount shown at your own checkout and payment screen prevails over anything on this page. Nothing on this page alleges that any promotional format, countdown, time limit, discount badge, stated maximum retail price, price point or advertised claim described above is false, misleading, improper or unlawful, or that any dark pattern, drip pricing, false urgency, unfair trade practice, misleading advertisement or breach of the Consumer Protection Act, the Consumer Protection (E-Commerce) Rules, the Guidelines for Prevention and Regulation of Dark Patterns, the Legal Metrology Act or any other law, rule or guideline has been committed by Flipkart, by any seller listing on Flipkart, by any bank, lender or payment partner, by any brand named above or by any associated entity, and no wrongdoing is alleged or implied. Running time-limited promotions, hourly deals, countdown offers, unlockable deals, fixed price points, exclusive launches and member early access, and revising prices during a sale, are ordinary and lawful commercial practices; the observation that several formats are short-lived, and the quotation of the phrase "Day 0 prices", are descriptions of Flipkart's own published wording and are not assertions that any price was raised, manipulated or misrepresented. Statements about prices measured between 21 September and 8 October 2026 refer to our own separate study of 79 matched listings and are summarised here rather than established on this page. No product is tested, reviewed, assessed or recommended here and no claim is made that any price is the lowest available anywhere. Product photographs are Flipkart's own listing images and may be styled or retouched; frames carrying sellers' printed marketing claims were deliberately excluded from the image used here, and the products pictured illustrate the categories these formats run across rather than any specific offer. Nothing on this page is financial, credit, tax or legal advice.