Nail polish is sold in bottles of 5 ml to 10 ml, so the sticker price only means something if you know the volume. Myntra prints it in 18 of its 19 polish titles. Nykaa prints it in none of its 20.
We read both shelves on 13 September 2026, 91 listings in all. Below: what each one actually charges, the single product stocked identically on both, why one rating count on this page reads 8.6 million, and which shelf to open for what.
📅 Both shelves read 13 September 2026
Nykaa median Rs. 174 vs Myntra Rs. 149
Elle 18 Nail Pops: Rs. 60 vs Rs. 57
📅 Update log:
13 Sep 2026 — first published. Nykaa's 36 listings came from its own listing responses for ten nail queries; Myntra's 55 came from its nail-polish, makeup-nails and nail-care listing pages, parsed from the page's own product JSON. Both were read on the afternoon of 13 September 2026 as a logged-out visitor in India with nothing purchased. Medians are taken across the polish listings only, with repeated shade tiles of one product counted once. Both retailers re-rank and re-price without notice, so we re-read both shelves and log what has changed here.
One shelf tells you how much polish is in the bottle. The other does not
Nail polish is sold in bottles of five to ten millilitres, and a 5 ml bottle at Rs. 42 is not cheaper than a 10 ml bottle at Rs. 96 — it is dearer per millilitre by a third. So the first thing we looked for on both shelves was the volume.
Myntra states it in 18 of its 19 polish titles. Blue Heaven's Color Shine says 5 ml, MARS's Cosmic Hues says 10 ml, Neze says 7 ml, shills says 7.5 ml. Nykaa states it in none of its 20. Not one polish, enamel, lacquer, base coat or top coat in the Nykaa set we read carries a volume in its listing title — it is on the product page, but not on the tile you compare from.
That single difference does more damage to a price comparison than any gap in the prices themselves. It means you can rank Myntra's nail shelf by cost per millilitre and you cannot rank Nykaa's at all, and it means every sticker-price comparison on this page — including ours — is comparing bottles of unstated and possibly different sizes. We are saying that up front rather than burying it.
| Measure | Nykaa | Myntra |
|---|
| Nail listings read | 36 | 55 |
| Of those, polish / enamel / coats | 20 | 19 distinct products |
| Cheapest polish on the shelf | Rs. 38 | Rs. 42 |
| Median polish price | Rs. 174 | Rs. 149 |
| Dearest polish seated | Rs. 1,121 (5-piece set) | Rs. 5,114 (12-piece pro set) |
| Median discount badge | 20% off | 15% off |
| Titles stating the bottle volume | 0 of 20 | 18 of 19 |
| Listings carrying a star rating | 20 of 20 | 26 of 29 tiles |
| Largest rating count displayed | 8,625,631 | 190,910 |
On the sticker price the two shelves are close, and Nykaa is slightly dearer
Taking the twenty Nykaa polish listings against the nineteen distinct Myntra ones, the median polish costs Rs. 174 on Nykaa and Rs. 149 on Myntra. The floors are within four rupees of each other: Rs. 38 for a Blue Heaven Glossy Gel on Nykaa, Rs. 42 for a Blue Heaven Color Shine 5 ml on Myntra.
The ceilings are where the shelves stop resembling each other. Nykaa's dearest polish in our read was a Rs. 1,121 five-piece gel set, and it also carries O.P.I at Rs. 495 to Rs. 638 a bottle — an imported salon brand Myntra's nail shelf did not return at all. Myntra's top listing was a Rs. 5,114 twelve-piece professional cat-eye gel set, which is a salon product rather than a consumer one and is the reason we quote its median with and without that outlier (Rs. 149 with, Rs. 145 without).
Discount badges run a little deeper on Nykaa — a median of 20 percent against 12 to 15 percent — but that is mostly Nykaa discounting its own house brand, which prints 15 to 40 percent across the Nykaa Cosmetics enamels. The deepest badges anywhere in this read, 58 to 72 percent, sit on Myntra multi-packs from brands with two-figure rating counts, against MRPs of Rs. 199 to Rs. 840.
The one product that is genuinely the same on both shelves
Matching products across two beauty retailers is harder than it looks, because both stock different shades, different pack sizes and sometimes different variants of the same line. In this read exactly one product matched cleanly.
Elle 18 Nail Pops: Rs. 60 on Nykaa, Rs. 57 on Myntra, both stated against the same Rs. 65 MRP, with badges of 7 percent and 12 percent. Myntra is three rupees cheaper, which is worth exactly what it sounds like — the point of the row is that when the same bottle appears on both shelves, the two prices are within five percent of each other.
The other overlaps are not like-for-like and we are not going to present them as though they were. Blue Heaven appears on both, but Nykaa's Rs. 38 listing is the Glossy Gel against a Rs. 40 MRP while Myntra's Rs. 42 is the 5 ml Color Shine against Rs. 45. Coloressence appears on both, but Nykaa's five-piece Forever kit (Rs. 244) and Myntra's five-piece Naturally Yours set (Rs. 276) are different sets that happen to share a Rs. 325 stated MRP.
| Product | Nykaa | Myntra | What differs |
|---|
| Elle 18 Nail Pops | Rs. 60 — 7% off Rs. 65 | Rs. 57 — 12% off Rs. 65 | Identical stated MRP. Myntra Rs. 3 cheaper |
| Blue Heaven Color Shine | Rs. 38 — Glossy Gel, 5% off Rs. 40 | Rs. 42 — 5 ml, 7% off Rs. 45 | Different SKU and MRP — not a like-for-like row |
| Coloressence 5-piece nail paint set | Rs. 244 — Forever kit, 25% off Rs. 325 | Rs. 276 — Naturally Yours set, 15% off Rs. 325 | Same stated MRP, different sets. Nykaa Rs. 32 cheaper |
| Coloressence minis | Rs. 59 — Cute Coats single | Rs. 260 — Set of 6 glitter | Single against a set; not comparable on the sticker |
The rating counts on Nykaa's nail shelf need a health warning
Nykaa's Elle 18 Nail Pops tile displays 8,625,631 ratings. Its Faces Canada Splash enamel displays 3,605,272, its own Matte Nail Enamel 2,729,427 and Kay Beauty 1,212,194. Myntra's listing for the same Elle 18 polish displays 190,910.
Eight and a half million reviews on a single nail polish is not a plausible per-listing count for this category in India, and the same polish showing 45 times more ratings on one retailer than the other tells you the two numbers are not measuring the same thing. What Nykaa's figure aggregates — a brand, a range, a parent listing with every shade under it — we do not know, we did not ask, and we are not going to guess in print.
What we can do is tell you not to use it. On this page the rating counts appear beside every listing because both retailers publish them, and they are reproduced, not relied on. If you want evidence on a nail polish, the numbers worth reading here are the small ones: Myntra's 22,081 on MARS, 7,241 on Revlon, 5,467 on Lakme; Nykaa's 20,390 on Insight and 12,311 on its own Creme enamel. Those are the scale a real per-product sample takes.
What each shelf actually stocks
The two nail sections are not the same shop. Sixteen of the thirty-six listings Nykaa returned across ten nail queries were not polish at all: buffers from Rs. 60, cuticle nippers at Rs. 190, nail glue at Rs. 89, growth and repair serums from Rs. 224 to Rs. 492, a French manicure kit at Rs. 383 and its own press-on sets at Rs. 419. It is a nail-care aisle with polish in it.
Myntra's returned press-on and fake-nail extensions heavily — 24 of its 55 rows — from Rs. 135 for a thirty-piece set upwards, plus a UV curing lamp at Rs. 178 and moulding gel at Rs. 340. It is a nail-art aisle with polish in it.
So the practical answer to which shelf to open depends on what you are buying. For a bottle of polish from a brand you recognise, they are within a few rupees of each other and Myntra tells you the volume. For treatment, tools and removal, Nykaa's shelf is the one with the range. And for either, the coupon page is worth a look before you check out, because a code moves the final price by more than the gap between these two shelves does.
| Nykaa polish listing | Price | Badge | Ratings displayed |
|---|
| Blue Heaven Glossy Gel Color Shine | Rs. 38 | 5% off Rs. 40 | 4.0 · 275 |
| Insight Cosmetics Nail Polish | Rs. 45 | 10% off Rs. 50 | 4.4 · 20,390 |
| Coloressence Cute Coats Mini | Rs. 59 | 10% off Rs. 65 | 4.1 · 4,335 |
| Elle 18 Nail Pops | Rs. 60 | 7% off Rs. 65 | 4.2 · 8,625,631 |
| Faces Canada Splash Nail Enamel | Rs. 99 | 23% off Rs. 129 | 4.4 · 3,605,272 |
| Nykaa Cosmetics Nail Enamel Base BFF | Rs. 101 | 15% off Rs. 119 | 4.5 · 1,335,403 |
| Nykaa Cosmetics Matte Nail Enamel | Rs. 137 | 40% off Rs. 229 | 4.4 · 2,729,427 |
| Nykaa Creme Nail Enamel | Rs. 174 | 30% off Rs. 249 | 4.5 · 12,311 |
| Kay Beauty Nail Nourish Enamel | Rs. 207 | 20% off Rs. 259 | 4.3 · 1,212,194 |
| O.P.I RapiDry Quick-Dry Nail Polish | Rs. 495 | 10% off Rs. 550 | 4.4 · 289 |
| HYUE Fab Five Gel Fx, set of 5 | Rs. 1,121 | 25% off Rs. 1,495 | 5.0 · 31 |
| Myntra polish listing | Price | Volume | Badge | Ratings displayed |
|---|
| Blue Heaven Color Shine | Rs. 42 | 5 ml | 7% off Rs. 45 | 4.5 · 95 |
| ELLE 18 Nail Pops | Rs. 57 | not stated | 12% off Rs. 65 | 4.4 · 190,910 |
| Neze Chip Resistant Nail Polish | Rs. 83 | 7 ml | 58% off Rs. 199 | 4.3 · 22 |
| MARS Cosmic Hues Ultra-Glossy | Rs. 99 | 10 ml | 0% off Rs. 99 | 4.6 · 22,081 |
| MISS NAILS Minis | Rs. 99 | 6 ml | 0% off Rs. 99 | 4.1 · 265 |
| Renee Top Coat | Rs. 129 | 10 ml | 13% off Rs. 149 | 4.6 · 1,658 |
| Lakme Ultimate Glam Quick Dry Chrome | Rs. 141 | not stated | 34% off Rs. 215 | 4.5 · 5,467 |
| nails & more Gel Shine | Rs. 184 | 10 ml | 26% off Rs. 249 | 4.4 · 1,011 |
| Revlon Nail Enamel | Rs. 199 | not stated | 20% off Rs. 249 | 4.4 · 7,241 |
| EOD Era Of Diva, set of 12 | Rs. 227 | 6 ml each | 62% off Rs. 600 | 4.0 · 37 |
| Coloressence Naturally Yours, set of 5 | Rs. 276 | not stated | 15% off Rs. 325 | 4.5 · 7,361 |
| shills professional Long Lasting | Rs. 448 | 7.5 ml | 25% off Rs. 599 | 4.9 · 27 |
How we read both shelves
The method, in full
Both shelves were read on the afternoon of 13 September 2026 as a logged-out visitor in India, with nothing purchased and no account used. The Nykaa side is 36 unique listings returned by nykaa.com's own listing responses for ten queries — nail polish, nail paint, nail enamel, nail polish kit, nail, nail art, gel nail, nail remover, nail care and manicure — of which 20 are polish, enamel, lacquer, base coat or top coat and the remaining 16 are tools, treatments, glue or press-ons. The Myntra side is 55 listings from its nail-polish, makeup-nails and nail-care listing pages, parsed from the page's own embedded product JSON, of which 19 are distinct polish products once repeated shade tiles of the same product are collapsed.
Medians are taken across the polish sets only. Where a retailer lists the same product in several shades at the same price, we count it once. Volume figures are taken from the listing title and nowhere else, which is the whole point of the first section: a volume that appears only on the product page does not help you compare tiles. We did not open every product page, we bought nothing, and we tested no polish for wear, chipping, dry time or finish.
The short version
Prices are close enough that the shelf you open should be decided by something else. Myntra states the bottle volume and Nykaa does not, which is the only structural difference here that survives a change in stock or a sale.
Nykaa is the better nail-care aisle and carries O.P.I; Myntra is the better nail-art aisle and tells you what you are buying. The one product on both shelves, Elle 18 Nail Pops, costs Rs. 60 and Rs. 57. Ignore the eight-figure rating count entirely.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is nail polish cheaper on Nykaa or Myntra?
They are close, and on this read Myntra was slightly cheaper. Across 20 Nykaa polish listings and 19 distinct Myntra ones read on 13 September 2026, the median price was Rs. 174 on Nykaa and Rs. 149 on Myntra, and the cheapest bottle was Rs. 38 on Nykaa against Rs. 42 on Myntra. The one product stocked identically on both — Elle 18 Nail Pops — cost Rs. 60 on Nykaa and Rs. 57 on Myntra, both off a stated Rs. 65 MRP. A gap that small is smaller than the effect of a coupon code or a bank offer at checkout, so neither shelf is reliably the cheaper one.
How much nail polish is in the bottle?
On Myntra you can usually tell from the listing title: 18 of its 19 polish products state a volume, most commonly 5 ml, 6 ml, 7 ml or 10 ml. On Nykaa you cannot — none of the 20 polish listings we read states a volume in its title. This matters more than the price difference between the two shelves: a 5 ml bottle at Rs. 42 works out at Rs. 8.40 per ml while a 10 ml bottle at Rs. 96 is Rs. 9.60, and without the volume you cannot do that arithmetic at all. Check the product page before you compare two bottles.
Why does one nail polish show over 8 million ratings on Nykaa?
We do not know, and that is the honest answer. Nykaa's Elle 18 Nail Pops tile displayed 8,625,631 ratings on 13 September 2026, its Faces Canada Splash enamel 3,605,272 and its own Matte Nail Enamel 2,729,427. Myntra displayed 190,910 for the same Elle 18 polish. A figure of that size cannot be a per-listing review count for a nail polish in India, so at least one of the two numbers is aggregating something broader than the single product — a range or a parent listing, most likely. We report both figures as displayed, allege nothing about either retailer, and suggest you weigh the smaller, more plausible counts instead.
Which site has more nail polish shades and brands?
They specialise differently. Nykaa's nail section is built around nail care — 16 of the 36 listings we read were buffers, cuticle tools, glue, growth serums and manicure kits — and it stocks its own Nykaa Cosmetics enamel range plus imported O.P.I at Rs. 495 to Rs. 638. Myntra's is built around nail art, with 24 of 55 rows being press-on and fake-nail sets, a UV curing lamp and moulding gel, alongside MARS, Lakme, Revlon and Elle 18 bottles. For a single bottle of a mass-market brand both work; for treatment go to Nykaa, for extensions go to Myntra.
Are the discount badges on nail polish real?
They are real percentages of the MRP each seller printed, which is not the same as a saving. The median badge in this read was 20 percent on Nykaa and 12 to 15 percent on Myntra — modest by the standards of most online beauty shelves. The deep ones are worth reading twice: the largest here were 58 to 72 percent on Myntra multi-packs from brands carrying 6 to 37 ratings, against MRPs of Rs. 199 to Rs. 840. Meanwhile several of the best-known bottles — MARS at Rs. 99, MISS NAILS at Rs. 99 — carried a 0 percent badge because they are simply sold at their MRP. Compare selling prices with each other and ignore the percentage.
Prices & codes last verified: 13 September 2026
Both shelves behind this page were read on the afternoon of 13 September 2026 as served to a logged-out visitor in India, with nothing purchased and no account used. The Nykaa side is 36 unique listings from nykaa.com's own listing responses for ten nail queries; the Myntra side is 55 listings from myntra.com's nail-polish, makeup-nails and nail-care listing pages, parsed from the page's own embedded product JSON. Every selling price, stated maximum retail price, discount percentage, star average and rating count is the retailer's own published figure reproduced without adjustment. Median and range figures are calculated across the polish, enamel, lacquer, base-coat and top-coat listings only, with repeated shade tiles of a single product counted once on the Myntra side, and they describe these two samples rather than either retailer's full catalogue or its pricing policy; a different query, filter or day returns a different set. Bottle volumes are taken from listing titles alone: a volume printed on a product page but not on the tile is not counted here, because the comparison being described is the one a shopper can make from the listing grid, and the absence of a volume in a title is a statement about that title and not about the product. Statements that two listings are or are not the same product are based on what the listing titles and stated MRPs say; we bought nothing and opened no cartons, so where the two shelves state different variants or MRPs we mark the row as not like-for-like rather than treating it as a price difference. Rating counts are reproduced exactly as displayed and are not relied on anywhere in our conclusions; where a displayed count is implausibly large for a single product we say so and explicitly decline to speculate about what it aggregates, and no wrongdoing, manipulation or misrepresentation by Nykaa, by Myntra, or by Elle 18, Blue Heaven, Coloressence, Faces Canada, Kay Beauty, Insight, MARS, Lakme, Revlon, O.P.I, Renee, Plum, Miss Claire, Neze, MISS NAILS, EOD, HYUE, shills professional or any other brand named is alleged or implied. Prices change without notice; coupon codes, bank card offers, minimum-cart thresholds, shipping charges and anything applied at checkout are not visible in listing data and can move your final price in either direction at either retailer, and the prices and terms shown at your checkout prevail over anything here. Nothing on this page tests colour payoff, shade accuracy, dry time, chipping, wear, ingredient safety or removal, and no nail polish was bought, applied or worn by us; nothing here is cosmetic, dermatological or medical advice. Zoutons may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page; it does not change what you pay, and nothing here was reviewed or approved by Nykaa, Myntra or any brand named.